Print this Page Content

Australian of the Year Awards

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2017 Australian of the Year Awards!

AOTY Image

Proudly supporting remarkable Australians for 35 years

Each year our nation celebrates the achievement and contribution of eminent Australians through the Australian of the Year Awards by profiling leading citizens who are role models for us all. They inspire us through their achievements and challenge us to make our own contribution to creating a better Australia.

The Awards honour an exceptional group of highly-respected Australians who ignite discussion and change on issues of national importance.

The Australian of the Year Awards provides all Australians with the opportunity to recognise someone who makes them proud in four categories:

•   Australian of the Year
•   Senior Australian of the Year (those aged 65 years or over)
•   Young Australian of the Year (ages 16 to 30)
•   Australia's Local Hero

The Awards operates at two levels - state/territory and national.  State and territory selection committees select four finalists for each award category, with one of these finalists becoming the state/territory award recipient.  State/territory award recipients then become the national finalists for the awards. The National Australia Day Council Board select the Australians of the Year from the group of 32 State and Territory recipients. Follow the links for more information on the selection criteria and how recipients are chosen.

The prestigious year round program culminates in the announcement of the national award recipients in Canberra on Australia Day Eve.

Nominate someone you know

Nominations are now being accepted, and you can nominate someone quickly and easily by visiting

Extensive event calendar

Copyright © 2017 Corporate Club Australia

Site by Switch